The Impi Challenge – 12ks with 18 obstacles

My ass hurt for 3 straight days after. 

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

The Impi Challenge scared me.

I haven’t really had upper body strength since just about ever in my life.  At gymnastics I hopped around doing back flips and cartwheels but couldn’t do a pull up for absolute shit.  Even in my “basketball days” during push-ups I’d go on my knees when my coach wasn’t looking, listen I was a B student.  So it’s partly nature, partly my own laziness.

Impi Challenge, a 12k trail with 18 obstacles, in the Stellenbosch winelands, of mud and holes and barbed wire, made me uneasy, not something I couldn’t do, but an event which I could hold the 9 other people back, which I totally did.  I need more girl friends.

There were teams of men and women, 3 girls who didn’t do many of the obstacles but I was still proud of their gallant efforts, guys who were tough, girls who were tough, and some people dressed up as hospital patients, which was my other costume choice.

I jumped in mud a lot.  I fell over a lot too.  And, it was really super fun, like being a kid with more fear and more boobs to carry over and up walls.

The atmosphere was not actually that uneasy which made me at ease and completely comfortable walking (sorry rest of the team except Gary) and enjoying the moment of an event I liked so much I wanted to do it again halfway through.

And the photos:

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

Impi Challenge | Milk and Cookies SA

For more information about the Impi Challenge go to their website.

Leave a Reply

