Nitida and the Sauvignon Festival in Durbanville

The first Season of Sauvignon for Milk and Cookies. 

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

My colleague, who is now an eating partner and am currently boldly committing her to a status of friendship (Girl with a Teacup I’m talking to you), once told me that wine isn’t just about the wine, it’s about what is happening when you are drinking it.  And that made me feel like I was missing out on a shared life experience (among other amazing aspects of wine).  And I was. So, I’ve made the effort to know.

In the last year I’ve been invited to taste wines, go to wine farms, wine festivals, and last weekend, the Season of Sauvignon in Durbanville.  And, while I really do love a good festival, this would be my first celebration of a specific varietal, a term I can now throw around like a badass.

The enticement of wine farms the rolling hills of Durbanville came into my radar after I had a nice bottle of Nitida Sauvignon Blanc with my friends a few weeks ago.

So Nitida.

Nitida is small, only 50 sheep there they say.  Children are scattered across the property.  Parents are drinking their wine.  Couples sitting near the lagoon holding hands in the sun.  All very cute and sweet;  I think that’s what Nitida had in mind.  It’s a small farm with a local feel, like the people there know it well and visit like an Englishman would visit his local pub.  It’s nothing over the top, or fancy, or pompous.  The ostrich burger was hearty and made by men who knew their way around meat; stereotypically (in the most excellent way possible),  Afrikaans, just like the Durbanville region.

There was some basking in the spring sun and exploring the in the vineyards ; that produce the 12 wines you can buy (I looked it up). Then,  sitting and relaxing, because I think that’s what Nitida wants guests to do.   It’s simple.

Like The Girl with the Teacup said, it’s not just about the wine, it’s about the atmosphere and the way you feel while you are drinking it.  Wine isn’t the subject, it’s the vessel that reminds your senses of what has happened.  It’s such a lovely drunk because it’s juicy and warming and sentimental and being drunk on wine makes people rosy-cheeked like Santa Clause and just as jolly.

Jolly on a Sunday in South Africa drinking Sauvignon is a damn good memory.

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

We made a little pit stop at Altydegedacht (try being American and saying that… it’s as impossible as predicting a Game of Thrones ending).

Nitida Wine and Sauvignon Festival | Milk and Cookies SA

Leave a Reply

